A Good Overview Creates Added Value.

Basic idea of visualization

Why do we visualize data and present it graphically? Or, quoting Monty Python with a wink: “What are the figures, what the facts?” In all seriousness: Why do design guidelines and standards help interpret these diagrams? Essentially it is always about an improved decision support!

We are convinced that data visualizations are important for a successful decision making process. Meaningful diagrams and tables help in both ad hoc analysis (exploration) and regular reporting (explanation).


Create real added value with graphomate extensions

graphomate extensions for Power BI, Tableau and SAP Analytics are our visualization extensions. They follow the rules of good information design to create meaningful visualizations. The basic rule is: “Information instead of decoration!”.

With our components, you can depict a uniform visual language across all tools – thus creating added value for your reporting system.


Visualization helps with decisions

The communication of business data is still very table-oriented. Tables may depict data precisely, but do we see the story behind the lines and columns of numbers? Can we easily decipher patterns, trends or outliers? Not really…

Here exactly lies the strength of charts: visualizations enable decision makers to quickly assess the current situation.
Frequently though, this understanding is hampered by so-called “noise” (3D effects, too many colors etc.).

graphomate extensions offer simple and clear visualizations based on rules for good information design: no effects, no 3D, no unnecessary colors and a consistent standardization of visualizations.


Consistent Visual Language

Composers have been using a uniform visual language to capture tunes for generations. With the help of this notation, musicians – no matter which language they speak – are able to play a song together. The situation is similar with schematic diagrams whose standardized elements can be read by engineers.

The International Business Communications Standards (IBCS) aim to establish this approach for business reporting as well. The principle: If the same content is always displayed in the same way, reports can be grasped quicker and comprehended better.

A simple rule is to always depict previous year figures in light gray and actual values in black. Budget values are depicted in white with outlines and forecasts are made distinctive with a hatched background.


Implementation of IBCS with graphomate extensions

graphomate extensions offer these and even more possibilities to create your own visual language – your own company notation.

However, IBCS contain further guidelines for meaningful reports and presentations beyond this aspect of notation. These visual rules of IBCS are also implemented with our graphomate extensions.


graphomate extensions offer you

  • ongoing standardization for uniform visual language,
  • reduction to the essentials and
  • consistent structures and clear messages in business reporting

in order to implement a “true and fair view” in business communication simply and quickly.

IBCS-compliant charts and tables can easily be created by Dragging and Dropping them into Power BI, Tableau and SAP Analytics. It is even possible to export and import templates of graphomate extensions between these frontend tools.

Conclusion: Good data visualization makes it easier to understand the report, try it out!

Ein guter Überblick verschafft Mehrwert

Grundidee der Visualisierung

Warum visualisieren wir Daten und stellen sie grafisch dar? Oder augenzwinkernd nach Monty Python: „What are the figures, what the facts?“ Im Ernst: Warum helfen gestalterische Richtlinien und Standards bei der Interpretation dieser Darstellungen? Im Kern geht es immer um eine bessere Entscheidungsunterstützung!

Wir sind überzeugt, dass Datenvisualisierungen wichtig für einen erfolgreichen Entscheidungsprozess sind. Aussagekräftige Diagramme und Tabellen helfen sowohl bei der Ad-hoc-Analyse (Exploration) als auch im regelmäßigen Berichtswesen (Explanation).


Mit graphomate extensions wirklich Mehrwert schaffen

graphomate extensions für Power BI, Tableau und SAP Analytics sind unsere Visualisierungserweiterungen. Sie orientieren sich an den Regeln guten Informationsdesigns, um aussagekräftige Visualisierungen zu erzeugen. Die grundlegende Regel lautet: „Informieren statt dekorieren!“

Mit unseren Komponenten können Sie toolübergreifend eine einheitliche visuelle Sprache abbilden – und damit wirklich einen Mehrwert für Ihr Berichtswesen schaffen.

Ein Bild sagt mehr als tausend Zeilen (Grafik: graphomate)

Visualisierung hilft bei Entscheidungen

Die Kommunikation betriebswirtschaftlicher Daten in Unternehmen ist immer noch sehr tabellenorientiert. Zwar geben Tabellen die Zahlen präzise wieder. Aber sehen wir in den Zeilen und Spalten auch die „Story“, die sich hinter den Zahlen verbirgt? Können wir Muster, Trends oder Ausreißer einfach erkennen? Nicht wirklich …

Und genau hier liegt die Stärke von Diagrammen: Visualisierungen geben Entscheider*innen schnell eine Übersicht über die aktuelle Situation. Häufig erschwert allerdings sogenanntes „Rauschen“ (3D-Effekte, viele Farben etc.) das Verständnis.

graphomate extensions bieten einfache, klare Visualisierungen, die auf Regeln für gutes Informationsdesign basieren: keine Effekte, kein 3D, keine unnötigen Farben und eine konsequente Standardisierung der Visualisierungen.

Gleiches gleich darstellen (Grafik: graphomate)

Einheitliche visuelle Sprache

Komponist*innen nutzen seit Generation eine einheitliche visuelle Sprache, um Melodien festzuhalten. Mit dieser Notenschrift können Musiker*innen – gleich welche Sprache sie sprechen – Kompositionen miteinander spielen. Ähnlich verhält es sich mit Schaltplänen, deren standardisierte Elemente von Ingenieur*innen weltweit gelesen werden können.

Die International Business Communications Standards – kurz IBCS – haben das Ziel, diesen Ansatz auch für das betriebswirtschaftliche Berichtswesen zu etablieren. Das Prinzip: Wenn inhaltlich Gleiches auch gleich dargestellt wird, werden Berichte schneller erfasst und besser verstanden.

Ein Vorschlag ist zum Beispiel, Vorjahresperioden immer hellgrau und aktuelle Werte immer schwarz darzustellen. Planwerte werden dagegen weiß mit Rand und Prognosewerte schraffiert abgebildet.


Umsetzung der IBCS mit den graphomate extensions

graphomate extensions bieten Ihnen diese und noch weitergehende Möglichkeiten, Ihre eigene visuelle Sprache – eine Notation für Ihr Unternehmen – umzusetzen.

Die IBCS beinhalten aber über diesen Notationsaspekt hinaus weitere Richtlinien für aussagekräftige Berichte und Präsentationen. Auch diese visuellen Regeln der IBCS setzen wir mit unseren graphomate extensions umfassend um.


graphomate extensions bieten Ihnen die Möglichkeit, durch

  • eine konsequente Standardisierung,
  • eine Reduktion auf das visuell Wesentliche sowie
  • konsistente Strukturen und klare Botschaften im Berichtswesen

einen „true and fair view“ in der Geschäftskommunikation einfach und schnell umzusetzen.

IBCS-konforme Diagramme und Tabellen erstellen Sie einfach per Drag-and-drop in Power BI, Tableau und SAP Analytics. Sogar ein Ex- und Import von Templates der graphomate extensions zwischen diesen Frontend-Tools ist möglich.

Fazit: Gute Datenvisualisierung erleichtert das Berichtsverständnis, probieren Sie es aus!