skip to Main Content
Graphomate Slopegraphs For SAP Lumira Designer

graphomate slopegraphs for SAP Lumira Designer

We are pleased to introduce our graphomate slopegraphs extension for SAP Lumira Designer and would like to show how it can be applied.

Slopegraphs were first introduced by Edward Tufte in his book “The Visual Display of Quantitative Information” in the early 1980s. Like their alternative term – table charts – the name gives a good idea of ​​what slopegraphs are about: the data is displayed in a table, but the lines do not only “display” but rather visualize the content.

slopegraphs_blog_artikel

An example for which this visualization type is suitable is shown in the following article from the newspaper “Die Welt”. The enclosed graphic is questionable in many respects: What do the long arrows indicating to the ranks mean (or why are they shown anyway)? Why are the ranks represented? – Without knowing the course of time, they are not very significant. The values ​​shown regardless of any context also have an arbitrary effect. After all, the scale will probably encounter the reader for the first time.

With a slopegraph one can face many of these problems:

slopegraphs_blog_img

By presenting the values ​​over the years, the context is revealed. The change in the ranks is visually easier to grasp. Highlighting can be used to quickly identify how the situation in the focus country has changed. Last but not least, a higher, visual density is possible: the same information and even additional years can be put in the same place without making it more complicate – in fact quite the contrary.

Highlights

The graphomate slopegraphs are released with some very nice features besides the usual selection possibilities of font, colour, number formatting etc. Some of them will be presented in the following.

Bump Chart: In the settings of the slopegraph is another chart type, the Bump Chart, included. In this visualization type, the slopes are not scaled based on the values, but on the ranges. Therefore, it is possible to visualize rankings and their change over time. In order to distinguish the slopegraphs from the Bump Charts, we have come up with an idea: Round points are shown at the end of the slopes for the Bump Charts to avoid any confusion.

slopegraphs_blog_bump

Supporting the scripting language: All properties of the slopegraphs can be read and set via the scripting language. This helps to support the add-ons for interactive dashboards and run-time customizations.

Display of trends and runtime interactivity: In order to better understand whether a slope takes a negative or positive course, trends can be highlighted in colour. The assignment of the colours can be adjusted and inverted. In addition, one can emphasize the course by hovering the mouse via a feature combination at runtime. This highlight is retained by clicking.

PNG export: It is also possible to export the displayed slopegraph as PNG. Previously made highlighting is preserved. The PNG can be used for presentations or can be printed.

If you are interested in a trial version of the graphomate slopegraphs, please contact vertrieb@graphomate.com.

_

ccbync
This file is licenced under the Creative Commons-Licence.

Back To Top

skip to Main Content
Graphomate Slopegraphs Für SAP Lumira Designer

graphomate slopegraphs für SAP Lumira Designer

Wir freuen uns heute die graphomate slopegraphs für SAP Lumira Designer etwas genauer vorstellen zu können und zu zeigen, für welche Anwendungsbereiche sich die slopegraphs eignen.

Slopegraphs wurden Anfang der 80er Jahre von Edward Tufte in seinem Standardwerk „The Visual Display of Quantitative Information“ vorgestellt. Wie auch ihre alternative Bezeichnung – table chart – gibt der Name einen guten Eindruck davon, worum es bei slopegraphs geht: Die Daten werden wie in einer Tabelle dargestellt, allerdings so, dass die einzelnen Zeilen Verläufe nicht nur „anzeigen“, sondern darstellen.

slopegraphs_blog_artikel

Ein Beispiel dafür, für welche Zwecke sich diese Form der Visualisierung eignet, zeigt der folgende Artikel aus “ Die Welt“. Die mit dem Artikel abgedruckte Grafik ist in vielerlei Hinsicht problematisch: Was bedeuten die langen Pfeile zu den Rängen (oder warum sind die da)? Warum sind die Ränge so dargestellt? – Ohne den zeitlichen Verlauf zu kennen, sind sie wenig aussagekräftig. Auch die dargestellten Werte wirken – ohne Kontext – arbiträr. Schließlich handelt es sich um eine Skala, die dem Leser vermutlich zum ersten Mal begegnet.

Mit einem slopegraph kann man vielen dieser Probleme entgegenwirken:

slopegraphs_blog_img

Durch die Darstellung der Werte über die Jahre erschließt sich der Kontext. Die Veränderung der Ränge ist visuell leichter zu erfassen. Durch das Highlight kann man schnell identifizieren, wie sich die Situation im Fokus-Land verändert hat. Nicht zuletzt ist eine höhere, visuelle Dichte möglich: Dieselben Informationen und sogar noch zusätzliche Jahre können auf dem gleichen Platz abgebildet werden, ohne die Verständlichkeit zu erschweren – eher im Gegenteil.

Highlights

Die graphomate slopegraphs kommen – neben den üblichen Auswahlmöglichkeiten zu Schriftart, -farbe, Nummernformatierung etc. – mit einigen sehr schönen Features daher, von denen einige im Folgenden näher vorgestellt werden sollen.

Bump Chart: In den Einstellungsmöglichkeiten des slopegraphs verbirgt sich implizit ein anderer Chart-Typ, das Bump Chart. Bei dieser Visualisierung werden die Slopes nicht anhand der Werte, sondern anhand des Ranges skaliert. Dadurch lassen sich – naheliegenderweise – Rangfolgen und deren Veränderung (bspw. über die Zeit) sehr schön abbilden. Um die slopegraphs von den Bump Charts unterscheiden zu können, haben wir uns einen kleinen, visuellen Helfer einfallen lassen: Bei den Bump Charts werden am Ende der Slopes jeweils runde Punkte abgebildet; dadurch kommt es nicht zu Verwechselungen.

slopegraphs_blog_bump

Unterstützung der Skript-Sprache: Alle Properties der slopegraphs lassen sich über die Skript-Sprache auslesen und setzen. Dadurch ist die Unterstützung der Extension für interaktive Dashboards und Anpassungen zur Laufzeit gewährleistet.

Darstellung von Trends und Laufzeit-Interaktivität: Um besser nachvollziehen zu können, ob ein Slope einen negativen oder positiven Verlauf nimmt, lassen sich Trends farblich hervorheben. Die Belegung der Farben lässt sich anpassen und invertieren. Außerdem können Betrachter der slopegraphs zur Laufzeit durch Hovern der Maus den Verlauf über eine Merkmalskombination hervorheben. Durch Klicken bleibt dieses Highlight erhalten.

PNG-Export: Ebenfalls zur Laufzeit ist es möglich sich einen Export des dargestellten Slopegraphs als PNG zu erstellen. Zuvor vorgenommene Hervorhebungen bleiben dabei erhalten. Das PNG lässt sich bspw. in Präsentationen verwenden oder ausdrucken.

Bei Interesse an einer Testversion der graphomate slopegraphs kontaktieren Sie uns gerne via vertrieb@graphomate.com.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Back To Top